I'm new to the Python API, so please don't assume any knowledge!

I'd like to measure a distance between two molecules.  The molecules are roughly planar, so I have defined the planes of each molecule, and I want to find the perpendicular distnace between the planes.  I can find the angle between the planes (which is usually 0, and if it's not 0 I realise that I can't measure the distance anyway).  How can I get the distance?  Below, the code is all working fine, except for the last line.

Thanks,

Louise

substructure_search.add_plane('P1',

sub1, 0,

sub1, 1,

sub1, 2,

sub1, 3,

sub1, 4,

sub1, 5,

sub1, 6,

sub1, 7,

sub1, 8)

substructure_search.add_plane('P2',

sub2, 0,

sub2, 1,

sub2, 2,

sub2, 3,

sub2, 4,

sub2, 5,

sub2, 6,

sub2, 7,

sub2, 8)

substructure_search.add_plane_angle_measurement('ang3', 'P1', 'P2')

substructure_search.add_distance_measurement('sep1', 'P1', 'P2')

Hi Louise,

the API does not support a plane-plane distance measurement since the planes are deemed to be infinite in extent.  You can measure a point-plane distance, so for example you could define a centroid from the first substructure's atoms and measure the distance to the second substructure's plane:

substructure_search.add_centroid('CENT1', (sub1, 0), (sub1, 1), (sub1, 2), (sub1, 3), (sub1, 4), (sub1, 5), (sub1, 6), (sub1, 7), (sub1, 8))
substructure_search.add_point_plane_distance('CENT1_P2', 'CENT1', 'P2')

Similarly you could define a second centroid, and measure the distance between the two centroids and the distance between the second centroid and the first plane.

I hope this is helpful.
Best wishes
Richard

Hi Richard,

Thanks for this.  As Mercury now allows measurement of the distance between two planes I was hoping that it would also be in the API.

Anyway, I tried your suggestion, and got the error:

AttributeError: 'SubstructureSearch' object has no attribute 'add_point_plane_distance'

Any ideas on what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks,

Louise