Paul Raithby

​Paul Raithby is Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Bath.  He moved to Bath in 2000 having spent 25 years in the Department of Chemistry, at the University of Cambridge, where he moved through the ranks from a post-doctoral Research Fellow with Professor the Lord Lewis of Newnham and Professor Brian Johnson, FRS, to a Reader in Structural Chemistry.  He was awarded a Sc D (Cantab) Degree in 1988.   He is a graduate of the University of London, having obtained a BSc in Chemistry, at Queen Mary College, in 1973.  He remained at QMC to complete a PhD in Structural Chemistry under the supervision of Professor Michael Hursthouse.  He has a track record of successful teaching and research and over 800 published papers. His outstanding record is emphasised by his position in the top 500 most cited physical scientists worldwide.  He was President of the British Crystallographic Association (2006-2009) and has been awarded the RSC Structural Chemistry Prize in 2008 and Corday-Morgan Medal in 1988. He is a member of the EPSRC's Strategic Advisory Network.

​Paul’s research interests span of chemical crystallography including the development of time resolved crystallography, organometallic polymer synthesis and investigations into their opto-electronic and luminescent properties, investigations of structural systematics using statistical and molecular mechanics methodologies and transition metal cluster chemistry.  He is an expert in the use of synchrotron radiation for diffraction studies, and was the Coordinator of the Working Group for the I19 Beamline at the Diamond Synchrotron, at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory.  Recently, he has expanded his interest in materials chemistry and is using time-resolved spectroscopic and diffraction methods to “watch chemistry happen” in the solid-state.  He holds a £3.2M EPSRC Programme Grant to manipulate metastable materials to produce new advanced functional materials.

Steady-State and Pseudo-Steady-State Photocrystallographic Studies on Linkage Isomers of Ni( Et4dien)(?2-O,ON)(?1-NO2) : Identification of a New Linkage Isomer. L. E. Hatcher, J. Christensen, M. L. Hamilton, J. Trincao, D. R. Allan, M. R. Warren, I. P. Clarke, M. Towrie, S. Fuertes, C. C. Wilson, C. H. Woodall, and P. R. Raithby, Chem.-Eur. J. 2014, 20 (11), 3128-3134.

Hingeless Negative Linear Compression in the Mechanochromic Gold Complex [(C6F5Au)2(µ-1,4-diisocyanobenzene)]. C. H. Woodall, C. M. Beavers, J. Christensen, L. E. Hatcher, M. Intissar, A. Parlett, S. J. Teat, C. Reber and P. R. Raithby, Angewandte Chemie, 2013, 125, 9873-9876.

On the appearance of nitrite anion in [PdX(OAc)L2] and [Pd(X)(C^N)L] syntheses (X = OAc or NO2): photocrystallographic identification of metastable Pd(?1-ONO)(C^N)PPh3. S. E. Bajwa, T. E. Storr, L. E. Hatcher, T. J. Williams, C. G. Baumann, A. C. Whitwood, D. R. Allan, S. J. Teat, P. R. Raithby and I. J. S. Fairlamb. Chemical Science, 2012, 3, 1656-1661.

Metastable Linkage Isomerism in [Ni(Et4dien)(NO2)2]: The First Combined Photo- and Thermo-crystallographic Structural Investigation of a Nitro/Nitrito Interconversion. L. E. Hatcher, M. R. Warren, D. R. Allan, S. K. Brayshaw, A. L. Johnson, S. Fuertes, S. Schiffers, A. J. Stevenson, S. J. Teat, C. H. Woodall and P. R. Raithby. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2011, 50, 8371-8374.

Contact Information